Jerome - Candidate for Security Council Election Sep 2023

Hi all!

My name is Jerome Rousselot. A friend suggested I apply to the Arbitrum Security Council elections because of my expertise in blockchain and software security.

Prior Experience
I have been working full time in the blockchain space since 2014.
Initially leading the development of a hardware and later mobile wallets with Mycelium, one of the most widely used non custodial wallets at the time.
In parallel I created my own company Jita Digital in 2015. First to build a blockchain micro-finance proof of concept, then to offer security audits and product development services to blockchain startups.
We worked with Nexus Mutual (decentralized insurance), Safello (Swedish exchange), Zen Protocol (layer 1 F* and F# theorem prover smart contracts), Minima (a new Proof of Burn blockchain), Ref.Finance (the largest DEX on NEAR), Texture Capital (the first security token platform to get a broker-dealer licence in the US), Qredo (Layer 2 MPC for institutional custody, compliance and trading) and many more.
Before blockchain, I obtained my PhD in Theoretical Computer Science at EPFL, Switzerland while studying wireless decentralised protocols. After which I joined Marvell Semiconductor, where I worked on hardware/software co-design, smartphones and digital TV platform architecture and security.
I am very experienced working with fully distributed teams combining many work and national cultures.

Why I apply
Layer 2 are a critical component of the blockchain ecosystem to enable mass adoption and ease of use for the next wave of users.
Many new L1 and L2 have suffered from poor key management. This is a topic often neglected by both the communities and the development teams.
Unfortunately, private keys and decision making centralisation can have grave consequences for this type of projects.